The Mortal Instruments

I finally got around to finishing this series at the end of 2016. I was pretty happy with this since the series had been going on for years, and I think I mostly lost interest a couple books before the last one because I started forgetting what happened earlier on in the series. Unfortunately, that’s just what happens when a series is long and you’re unwilling to go back and re-read the previous books.

I’m gonna try and make this short and sweet because my last couple of posts have been pretty long and I need a little brain break.

Alright, so… I thought the series was gonna end a couple books ago and I guess while it didn’t have to, that’s probably part of what lost me. I don’t remember what happened at all in the last couple books (besides the last one, which coincidentally I have read most recently), and while I think several cop-outs were used in ending the book, I felt like it was rounded enough to be a satisfying conclusion to the series.

One thing I really liked, though, was how since I read another series in the same world a while before I finished this one, I recognized a couple of characters that crossed over. That was cool, I don’t think I’ve ever experienced that satisfaction before.

I’ll probably get around to reading the other books written in this world as time goes on, but in the meantime, I’m glad to have the series completed so I can move onto other things.

~Erynn

 

Leave a Reply

