So, Wait, You’re a Writer, Right?

I guess I haven’t really posted anything about my writing in quite a while. I’ve honestly been trying to avoid it because while I’ve been writing regularly over the last couple weeks, I haven’t actually been writing.

I’m in the stage in one project I’m working on where I’ve thrown so many ideas into a story that it’s long past time where I go through everything, take out everything that’s good or that I think I can make work, and then write an outline. I hate writing outlines because I feel like they restrain my creativity, but I do recognize their critical role in organizing and structuring a story. Thus, instead of starting with an outline, I often compromise by doing all the bullshit creative stuff first and then sorting through it.

I may have mentioned it already, I may not have– I don’t feel like going through my posts to find out for sure– but I’m currently preparing the outline for the third draft for one of my three ongoing projects. The outline for v3.0 is about 80% done and I’ll be finishing that up within the next couple of days. I’ve just got to finish reading through the older drafts, write up some more notes, and then edit the outline accordingly.

This outline is for a YA fantasy that I’ve been writing on-and-off for about two years now. I’d honestly like to share more about it as I’m very happy with how the story is shaping out, but I’ve changed so much since I started writing it that I need to work on how to accurately describe the story. I’m thinking that if I can release any details, it’ll probably be in two or three months from now, so if that’s something you’re interested in maybe keep an eye open for that when March comes around.

The other two projects I’m working on are slow. One is going through some brutal rounds of editing (still even on the fourth draft!) and probably needs quite a bit more time before I can consider it polished. My third project, Desolace, which I have mentioned before in the past, has been mostly stagnant but I have come up with a few ideas that I’m itching to write and I’m hoping to get to that by the end of January.

Anyway, that’s all I wanted to say today. Maybe I’ll write up something longer and more exciting for tomorrow. 🙂

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

