Second Sight

Second Sight by George Szanto was the first novel I finished this year. I started working on it in early November, but it quickly turned my daily reading sessions from enjoyment to a chore before I stopped reading again altogether. There were times where I picked up the book, determined to get a chapter or so out of the way, but the result was still the same.

If I was not so keen on doing my best to finish every book I pick up, I probably would have given up on it a couple chapters in. I think part of that is because it really just wasn’t my type of story, and the genre is way off of what I normally read. Honestly, I’m not sure what it was supposed to be. Perhaps mystery/ suspense, although I was only mystified for a whole of ten seconds and the entirety of the novel’s suspense was how many pages were left until my suffering was over.

It felt as if nothing happened in the book. A friend of the main character goes missing at the start, and so he sets out to discover what happened to him. Chapter after chapter went by with pointless interactions and no clues. The protagonist was about as clueless as I was throughout the whole story, I guess that should tell you something.

I mean, maybe I missed all of the clues that were thrown around, but even considering that as a possibility, I just didn’t find myself liking any of the characters. They made any semblance of a story that there might have been completely unreadable. I don’t really like saying so many negative things about a book, but… well, that’s just how I felt about the whole thing. At least I managed to finish it.

I’m going to assume that no one else has bothered to read Second Sight, but if anyone has any thoughts to share then I’ll be here to respond. šŸ™‚

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

