Ender’s Game

I first heard about this book when I was in 6th grade, where I was deemed exceptionally good at reading and encouraged to pursue harder books. I was already pretty big into reading (I took a special interest in the Warrior books), and I’ll be honest… I don’t think I really read what Ender’s Game was about. I was really into pretty artwork, and, well… the original Ender’s Game covers are, quite frankly, crap. And so all thought of reading the book was tossed aside in favour of shinier titles.

Ender’s Game caught my attention in 8th grade or so, I don’t really remember why or how. School, you know? Anyway, I started reading it, finished it, and then forgot about it again because I had too many other books to jump to. The book, of course, came back to mind in 2013 when the movie was released. At this time I was dating my current boyfriend, who was a big fan of all of the books (even owned most of them) and it was he who made me even more interested in the series with all of his knowledge about it. But still, I was very unmotivated to pile another series on top of the many I’d already told myself I would read…

It wasn’t until December 2015 where I finally took the big step into reading the book. Well, actually, I bought it on audible so I could listen to it in the car, but when it comes down to it, for this post, we can call it the same thing. My boyfriend and I started it on one particular boring drive to see our parents back home. This time, the story just clicked and so I obsessively listened to it in every car ride until it was over.

You know, I don’t really have much to say about the story itself. I thought how the plot was handled was pretty magnificent, and it translated into an excellent story to listen to. I enjoyed the characters and everything that happened to them… but one thing that always stuck out to me was how young the characters were. The decisions they had to make, the things they needed to do… I had to constantly remind myself that they weren’t teenagers and while they had full understanding of what was require of them, their entire childhood was essentially re-purposed simply because of how smart they were. Having to reinforce that fact definitely made an impact on how I perceived the story.

I’ve almost finished the second book, A Speaker for the Dead, but that’s a whole other story for another day…

Have any of you read Ender’s Game, or maybe even watched the movie? What are your thoughts on it?

~Erynn

2 thoughts on “Ender’s Game

  1. I love Ender’s Game! And while I also love Ender’s Shadow, I have to say I’m not a huge fan of the rest of the series. But there’s something about those two–the youth of the characters, the dynamics of them interacting with adults, the psychology mixed with action… Such a great story!

    Like

    • Hey well, everything can’t be for everyone. I’m currently about 90% of the way through the sequel, Speaker for the Dead, and I’ve enjoyed it about as much as the first, if not more. I can’t say much about the other books, but I’ve heard that the Shadow’s Quintet is good. But I’m glad to know that someone else liked Ender’s Game, too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

