The Last of Us

I pride myself in being a storyteller. I write stories because it’s what I love to do, and because our world will always need good stories.

When I bought my PS4, it was a bundle pack with the shooter/ apocalypse game The Last of Us. Now, I’ll be quite honest… I’ve never liked shooters or anything to do with zombie apocalypses. They really weren’t my thing, mostly because I’ve always been a fan of story-driven video games and I always had it stuck in my head that most apocalyptic zombie games were just about killing, not the story.

The Last of Us changed that for me.

I didn’t care much about the game at first. It came with the PS4, but I figured my boyfriend would end up playing it instead of me. Instead, he made a comment about the game after we bought it and were heading home. Said something about how it wasn’t your typical zombie game, that it was very story based, etc., etc.. To say the least, I gave it a shot. I’m a sucker for story-based video games.

I ended up falling in love with the game. The story was beautiful; much more than I ever expected to come out of a zombie apocalypse game. I ended up completing the game twice before getting into any of the others I bought. The gameplay was pretty solid, too, though that’s not really what I want to talk about.

As a writer, I always strive to build characters, create worlds and scenarios where the reader can truly care about what’s happening to who. Ellie and Joel are probably the two most dynamic characters I’ve had the pleasure of learning about, and I sincerely hope that I can create characters who have such an impact on readers as they did to me.

The Last of Us has increased the bar for storytelling through all mediums. I hope that even if my genre of choice is completely different, I can write something just as amazing as the story told in the game.

The game also had a huge impact on how I look at zombie apocalypse games and movies in general. I’ve realized that most add science to it (though I don’t think half it of it makes sense) and that it’s not just zombies coming out of nowhere like I initially thought. Most games and movies have a different approach to how the disease spreads (for example, in The Last of Us, the disease is a fungus that was spread mostly through food supplies. That’s not a spoiler.) and different ways to go about finding a cure or just surviving.

I’m still not a huge fan of shooters, but I’ve opened myself up to them to at least learn more. With zombies, I’m more intrigued than a fan. But it’s still a step in the right direction, and I’ve learned a lot about storytelling to boot.

What about you guys? Have you played The Last of Us? What are your thoughts on the game and the story?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

