The Heir

I read the first three books as they came out and honestly wasn’t too impressed. I mean, the writing wasn’t particularly bad and I liked the world it was set in, but I found the story unbelievable. It interested me enough to keep reading, though, so I guess it’s got that going for it.

The Heir, the fourth book in the series, takes a step back from the original characters in the first three books and gives us a new set to read about. I think the protagonist… whatever her name is… is a decent character, built better than all of the characters from the first three books. I don’t think she’s the best character, either, but it felt like she was closer to a real person than I expect to find in most YA novels.

Well, the novel itself is about the romance. I’m honestly not much of a romance reader, but I find that they’re a good break from fantasy when I need to read something different. I found the romance in this novel atypical, but in a good way. It’s a bunch of cliches mixed together to form something interesting.

Not much else to say about the novel. I’m looking forward to the next one though it unfortunately doesn’t come out until sometime next year.

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

