Heir of Fire

I read the novellas that led up to this series a couple years ago before the first book came out (I believe this is the third book). I loved the characters and there were parts of the story that really made me feel. You have to admire an author when they can consistently do this. It fell a bit short in the second book and that’s why it took me so long to pick this one up– but I’m glad that special little touch was back in this book.

A couple new characters are added in this book and I found myself quite liking them. The only thing I really don’t like about this is that both of them are potential love interests for the main character. There already were two love interests! I guess it’s kind of unique, though, because how many books are there with a love X instead of a love triangle? Despite this, the characters were really strong in other ways, so I can’t complain too much.

Learning more about this world’s magic was quite the experience. In the first two books it was “blocked off” in the continent the characters lived in, but in this one, Celaena has gone on a quest somewhere else that still has some use of it. The story had an interesting take on magic, something I’ve never really seen before paired with some of your typical stuff. It was neat.

I really don’t think there’s much else I can say. It was a solid addition to the series, and after the major cliffhanger that was left at the end of the second, a fair amount of answers were given without the lack of new questions. I’m looking forward to reading the next, whenever that is. 🙂

Have you read Heir of Fire? What did you think?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

