Lauren Ipsum

“A story about computer science and other improbable things.”

I picked up this book on request of one of my clients, who said they wanted me to write them something that felt similar. At a glance, it was a children’s story with a bit of an educational twist to it, but I found, upon venturing into the little world the author created, that it was much more than that. And I’m happy to say that I read it.

Alright, so I admit I’m a bit of an idiot when it comes to coding and pretty much anything that has to do with computer science. It’s just not my thing. I assumed that, even though it was intended to educate children on such subjects, that I probably wouldn’t understand it. But I was wrong about that too. The language it used made the explanations very approachable, and the computer science “logic” was always explained in a real-world situation (or as real-world as you’re going to get from a fantasy world adventure).

So I actually learned some things. That was an interesting experience. The book was short, but interesting, even if I didn’t have much interest in the subject it was trying to teach.

Have any of you read a book you didn’t expect to like much, but ended up loving it?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

