Emperor of Thorns

I started reading Emperor of Thorns right after I finished King of Thorns. I guess that doesn’t sound like a big deal– but considering I read Prince of Thorns in the summer of 2014, the fact that there was no lag in the completion of the third book made processing information received in the second and made significant in the third much simpler.

Anyway, as always, this is a no spoiler post. I’m just sharing some of my thoughts on the book without revealing much about the content.

Something I’ve had an interest in for a very long time is necromancy, but I believe the Broken Empire is the first series that I’ve had the pleasure of reading that includes the concept. Its presence was minimal in the first book, became much more interesting in the second book, and in the third, we read part of the book through the point of view of a necromancer. I was a little surprised that we read something from someone other than Jorg’s perspective, and though it was a little strange at first, I eventually got used to it and enjoyed it.

In enjoyed it so much that about two-thirds through the book I read a passage that made the whole story click. Bits and pieces of the story that I hadn’t paid much mind to before then suddenly made sense, and though I liked that I was able to guess something that was going to happen before it did, it spoiled the ending for me. I was two-thirds through the book and already had an idea of how the book would end. Well, that sucked, but I still read it through and found some things that surprised me.

Overall I enjoyed the final book of the series and the series as a whole. The adventure was much different than most of the other books that I’ve read though I can’t say that I’m particularly well-read in the fantasy genre at the moment. I look forward to reading Mark Lawrence’s next series though I doubt I’ll get to it this year.

Have any of you finished the Broken Empire Trilogy? What did you think about it?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

