Changing Opinions: NaNoWriMo

Hey everyone! Sorry for missing out on a new post last week– I was kinda busy and never really got around to it. I’ll have an extra post up sometime within the next few days to make up for it.

Anyway, onto what I wanted to talk about today. I know a lot of writers nowadays participate in NaNoWriMo, be in the official November one, or the Camp NaNos that occur during the spring and summer. I’ve written a bit about my experience with the event– mind you, it’s mostly been positive– but today I want to try something a little different.

Since I first participated in NaNoWriMo in November 2013, my thoughts toward NaNo and writing in general have changed. When I began to believe in the power of my writing and the creativity needed to bring it to life, I started seeing things a little differently. Back then, I wrote once in a blue moon. Why? Because I simply had other things I’d rather be doing. NaNo, really, was the perfect opportunity for me to dive full-on into the trade and learn more. And that’s exactly what happened.

Now, I write pretty much every day. Sure, it’s not always toward my book (I actually have fallen behind on that, but we’ll talk about that in a different post), but I’m a dedicated writer. I do plenty of writing and editing for work, as well as pleasure. There are some days where I only pump out several hundred words, but then there are also days where I do more than five thousand.

I didn’t really participate in NaNo 2014. Why? Well, because I already got what I needed out of NaNo the year before. I don’t need a special month to tell me when to write or what my pace should be. Real writers just write, and I consider myself a real writer. My passion for writing was reignited, and now I write full-time. I don’t have a use for it anymore.

What about you guys? I think I’ve “seen the light” regarding writing. I don’t have to be told to write, I just do it. Do you still participate in NaNo? Do you plan to?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

