The Nighthunter

I’ve never been an early riser. Getting up long past noon and staying up deep into the night has always suited me more than waking in the early hours to do “normal” things throughout the day. My thoughts have pretty much been, for as long as I can remember, “Why should I do anything else when I have everything I need right here at my disposal at any hour of any day?” Those things being the internet, video games, books, and my ability to write whatever I felt like writing.

I know there are lots of people like me; night owls who make their schedules in the heat of things, doing what they want when they want because they have the power to do it like that. Moreso, there are people who get up early because it’s what they want to do. And you know what? Good for them. We should all have the power to have even some semblance of control over our lives, but as most of us are very well aware, that’s not the case.

There have been countless times where I’ve been in a situation that leads to me being asked the following strain of questions:

“So.. you’re a student?”

“Oh, no. I work.” (Not really want to say much more about it, because I know what’s coming next.)

“Really? What do you do?”

“I’m a freelance writer.”

“You write articles for magazines or something? That’s cool! How do you get people to buy your stuff?”

“I.. uh… write fiction, not articles. Like books and short stories and such.”

“People actually pay you to do that?”

*facepalm*

I’m a freelance writer because writing is what I love to do. Even better, I get to control my schedule, what jobs I take, and (often times) how much I’m paid. Sure, I could do something that forces me to work eight hours a day and give me a stable income, but I’d be selling my soul to a world that wants to control me, not allow me to take control. And that’s exactly what I’ve done. I know I want to be a writer, I know I can make a living doing it, so that’s what I’m doing.

Recently I’ve started calling myself the Nighthunter. Mostly because it sounds cool, but also because I find that it’s a suitable metaphor for what I’m experiencing. I’m not undercover like the word Nighthunter suggests, but I feel like I need to hide and control my desires in order to mesh in well enough with the world we live in until my prey is in sight. Then I can jump out and snatch it the moment it’s within reach.

How do people react to you being a writer? Have you come up with any (crazy, silly, or otherwise) metaphors to describe your life as a writer?

~Erynn

5 thoughts on “The Nighthunter

  1. A couple days ago Jade was reading Care Bears to me and I was telling her how Aunty Erynn’s email was ‘tenderheart’ because that’s what she had. You still do. Love you bunches. XOXO

    And you’ve always hated mornings!

    Like

    • Aww that’s sweet. And no, not always! There were times back when I was seven or eight where I was up in the early hours prepared to bounce off the walls all day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

