New Year, New Goals

So, the new year has begun. Have you guys made any new years resolutions? I don’t really consider the changes I’m making to my blog resolutions, but still a change I want to uphold. Take it as you will.

Anyway, today is day one, and we’re going to talk a bit about my book; my progress through 2014, and my plan moving into 2015. A couple months ago before things went seriously downhill for me, I made a lot of goals for the completion of Taichiren’s and the other books of the series.

The plan was to finish the second draft of the book before January 2015. Of course there have been a few things that prevented this from happening, such as work and depression, among many other things. I think after I restarted the second draft (which was approximately 1/4th done at the time, early July I believe), I ended up having time to write out the first two chapters and that’s it. It’s a shame, really, because I’m super pumped to write out the new storyline I’ve built up. I don’t want to share too much about it, but the best way I can think of to describe the largest change would be that I’ve switched up the perspective at the beginning. As the story did before, it still starts out on Kristinn, the main character, but the focus doesn’t stay on her for long. In the first version, the first half of the book was focused mostly on Kristinn and Cysar. In the newest version, the plan is to have a bit of focus on Kristinn on the beginning, and then introduce the perspectives of other characters as time goes on (rather than all at once half way through).

Since this didn’t happen, the new plan is to complete the second draft by the end of May. Starting tomorrow I’ll be dedicating enough time every day to write at least 1,000 words toward this goal. Since I expect the book to reach 100,000 – 150,000, this gives me me about 140 days to reach 140,000 words. If everything goes as planned, the story will end much before then, and that leaves me with a couple days to play around with in case anything comes up that stops me from writing.

A thousand words really isn’t that much– I know I can easily write 5,000 or more per day and still get lots of other stuff done– but by keeping my goal lower, I know that I’ll have time to work on everything that needs to be done without getting too stressed about the bazillion things I’m expected to do every day. And, to make things even better, I don’t intend to shy away from getting those good days where I get more than 1k words in while still getting everything else done.

Alright, that leaves us with my plans for the proceeding books. I’m honestly not too sure what my original plan for them was, because I have all that info saved on my laptop, which I don’t really use anymore and am too lazy to dig through for the purpose of this post (sorry!). I believe the goal was to have the first drafts for the second and third books done by the end of 2015, which would have been entirely possible assuming I had as much free time as I did the previous year. This also would have left time to write the first draft of the fourth book, assuming I couldn’t end the story in just the three.

As it currently stands, this is no longer possible. Not really a big surprise there, eh? But I don’t focus as much time on the details for my first drafts, so I know that it will be possible to finish the second book this year.  Depending on where I am after that’s done, I should be able to get started on the third, though I doubt I’ll finish it by the end of the year. I think it would be great to be able to stick to this, but because I don’t want to guess how busy I’ll be at that point in time, I’m not going to make any solid goals in this regard until May comes around. Once the beginning of May hits, I should know whether or not I’ll finish the first book in time, and then that’s when I’ll start making plans for the second, third, and (maybe) fourth books.

What do you guys think about my new and improved goal? Have you guys set any new writing goals for yourself with the start of the new year?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

