Writing Hard, and Writing Well

Over the last week or so since I’ve got back from our failed trip to the Yukon (thanks mom, since apparently I didn’t make it clear enough in my post on the matter that you saved our asses), I’ve returned to writing at a steady schedule… except, well, I haven’t been writing my book. It’s not that I don’t want to be working on it, because if it were that simple, I would gladly sit down and write for twenty-four hours straight if it meant I could get rid of the scenes replaying over and over again in my head. And I know that sitting down and writing them would get those scenes to stop playing, that is, if I had the time to, because doing so in the past has always achieved those same results.

Except our failed trip to the Yukon put me behind on a deadline… that I missed yesterday. I already knew when I got back that it would be almost impossible to achieve in time, even if I wrote about 5,000 words toward that story every day. Surprisingly enough, I actually have been writing that much every day since I got back. Yesterday I wrote just over 4,900 words, the day before that about 4,000, and between 3,000 to 5,000 every other day, depending on how busy I was with other things. So I’m only behind by one day because I plan on finishing it up tonight, but damn, missing a deadline really makes me feel bad. 😦

Well, regardless, I’m looking forward to keeping up at this momentum. I know if it goes on much longer I’ll get burnt out, but I don’t need to be writing 5,000 words a day to be happy with my writing; I just want to catch up so I can get back to the point where I can be working on five projects at once and make reasonable progress each day (three of those projects being mine, two of them being work related). After all, I need to be making money in order to afford spending so much time working on projects that aren’t at all worth it short term, and may be worth it long term.

Until then, I don’t believe Taichiren’s Heart or any of the other personal writing projects I’ve been dying to start will be leaving me alone for some time, and I’m just going to need to deal with it. Hopefully all will be well by early September as that’s my goal for catch up, which gives me another solid week outside of moving this upcoming weekend to keep up my ridiculous amount of writing.

How have your guys’ writing habits been as of late? Slacking or on a roll like myself?

~Erynn

One thought on “Writing Hard, and Writing Well

Leave a Reply

