The Joys of Fan Fiction

A lot of us writers probably wrote fan fiction at some point in our lives. Many of us aren’t proud of that fact, but it’s really nothing to be ashamed of; writing fan fiction is a way to test the waters with already established characters and stories. I’m saying this because when I started writing seriously… I shamed that part of my writing career into a corner and locked it away because I thought it was embarrassing. In a way it kind of is, but not because the writing was fan fiction, but instead because the writing was just awful in general. There actually is a difference.

So, in other words, no one that I know personally has read those god awful stories from when I was thirteen. The only other people who have read them were equally obsessed thirteen year old girls who wanted to read more about the same characters. They didn’t care about how bad the writing was.

There are many different types of fan fiction, as it basically stems from anything fictional about an already established world and already established characters, written by someone other than the author. There are little boundaries with a classification like that. Fan fiction can, and is, derived from things such as novels, television series, movies, and you could even go so far to say that fiction written about historic events is fan fiction- though if it’s actually classified as such, I wouldn’t know, so I wouldn’t quote me on that.

Personally, I wrote a series of short stories/novellas on an anime series I enjoyed when I was younger. I was big into the characters because the series was actually about finding yourself and helping others- something I found pretty inspiring when I was younger. It was easy to take the characters and do what I wanted with them because I liked them so much, but I truly believe that doing this helped turned me into the writer I am today. Not that I’m anything special yet, but it doesn’t hurt to dream!

I’m sure that if you looked hard enough you will still find these stories online. I know I never removed them and I’m positive that the website I used is still up and running, but there’s no way I’m going to actually show any of you that garbage. If you find it, though, feel free to post it in the comments and make fun of me. I’ll even give you a cookie for doing so.

Have any of you written fan fiction? What are your thoughts on fan fiction in general?

~Erynn

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Fan Fiction

  1. I love reading fan fiction ( especially of The Big Bang Theory and Revolution). I think it’s great way to experience story lines that the writers of the shows or whatever have’t gotten to yet. I don’t write a lot of fan fiction, I dabble in it here and there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

