A Rough Week

Last Wednesday my boyfriend, my best friend, and myself all left on a road trip to the Yukon. I’ve never been there before, so I was rather excited to get out of BC for the first time in a while and experience a new province. However, as you may have guessed already either because of the nature of Erynn’s life or because of the title of this post, things haven’t gone as planned.

Half way through the second day of our trip, our car broke down. At this point we were already 1200km from home (a little under half way to our destination), in a dead zone, and more than a little pissed off. Luckily for us my boyfriend’s aunt was in the area for work, and after hitching a ride to the nearest town (about 100km away), we were able to secure a tow truck and a ride to his aunt’s house a few hours away until we figured our shit out.

The next day we discovered that the car was irreparable, lest we wanted to pay upwards of $5000 to get a new engine. Definitely don’t have that kind of money at the moment. So, regardless of our luck with my boyfriend’s aunt being in the area, we were stranded from home without any immediate ways to get home (a bus ticket was $800 each, ouch, and who knows where the nearest airport was). Since the previous day my own mother offered to come pick us up, I gave her a call after learning about the status of the car and she immediately packed and came to get us. Early the next morning she was there and ready to continue on toward our destination of Whitehorse.

However, none of us were really up for it. The last few days were exhausting and soul-sucking. Instead of continuing north, we headed back south. Yesterday before we came home we stopped in Barkerville, a mining town from the late 1800s and early 1900s, where I got a pretty (but I assume to be fake) Swarovski crystal necklace. My friend also picked up a flask, but we don’t talk about that. XD

Needless to say, I haven’t got much writing done. We got home last night and since I woke up this morning I’ve been writing like crazy, trying to catch up in all of the day’s I’ve missed. Not that I’m trying to really keep up a writing schedule at this point, but I have several jobs looming over me and the 2nd rewrite of my own novel to finish! Once I knock off a few things from my to-do list, that book isn’t going to remain unwritten for long.

How has everyone’s week been? Hopefully better than mine.

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

