How Much do You Know About Dyslexia?

Hello everyone!

This post will be a bit different than my typical writing post, but I promise you that it’s definitely related to reading and writing!

In case you’re not already aware, Dyslexia is a learning disorder that affects spelling, reading, writing in general, as well as basic learning memory (in other words, its harder to learn things). The disability varies from person to person, it can be quite severe, and in some cases, barely noticeable. If I recall correctly, Dyslexia has a lot to do with genetics; so if someone in your family has it, it’s possible that it was passed down from them to younger members of the family. Dyslexia is obtained at birth, and cannot be “caught”.

The reason I’m bringing this up today is because of how big of an impact Dyslexia can be to those who have it, and how large of a hindrance it can be to those who want to spend time reading and writing. I’m not too sure about where the Dyslexia in my family originated from, but I believe my mother and I both have minor cases of Dyslexia. Annoying enough to have to be cautious when reading and writing, but not really severe enough to have to tell everyone about it, and most people don’t notice.

My boyfriend’s family is a different story, as they have it pretty severe. Really I don’t know much about their situation with it either, but I know at least two people in his family that have it really bad. Luckily for him, he was spared, but has still needed to witness its effects on his family almost every day of his life.

I’m definitely no expert on the subject, but I know that Dyslexia is much more common than you may believe. It’s the most common learning disability! While that alone probably doesn’t matter too much to most of you, most of you are passionate readers and writers, aren’t you? All of these people suffer from a disability that makes reading and writing significantly harder for them, and many of them suffer the snowball effect… where it gets worse and worse because nobody pays enough attention to them to offer appropriate assistance. 😦

Well now that you have some background on the disorder and my association with it, I suppose it’s time to get to the point of this post.

Most of us are writers and avid readers, but I believe we take our abilities in that regard for granted. We claim to be storytellers and we devour stories built by those around us… yet we let our morale be eaten away by self pity and pride. If your writing is terrible, that’s your own fault. Does that mean give up? No. It means instead of feeling sorry for yourself, you get off your ass and write. You become better because you want to become better.

There are so many people out there who want to write and are severely handicapped in their journey of doing so, but they do it anyway. I guess you could say I’m one of them? It depends on your perspective. If you write regardless of what blockades are in your path, you’re succeeding whether you publish something or not. And that’s what matters.

Well I guess this turned into a bit of a rant, but whatever. I hope I got my point across and informed you a bit about Dyslexia.

In the end, Dyslexia is a huge hindrance to everyone, not just those who enjoy reading and writing.

~Erynn

One thought on “How Much do You Know About Dyslexia?

  1. Dyslexia is a strange thing in the education system. It’s hard for someone without it to comprehend how it works on people and often people who are struggling in school with no visible hindrances are dyslexic. They didn’t diagnose dyslexia on my brother till grade 8 and by then he was already 2 years behind in reading/writing levels. We knew he was dyslexic but you cannot receive support for it until you are officially told.

    Like

Leave a Reply

