How Scary

Hello there everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

Earlier today my mother told me to “remember not to eat anything past midnight”. For a moment I was left wondering what in the world she was talking about, and why she’d care about my eating habits in the middle of the night. But then I remembered. Tomorrow morning I’m going in for a long anticipated surgery.

Nothing drastic or life altering, however. I’m just getting my growing wisdom teeth removed. According to the x-rays they are a long way from coming up out of the bone, but because I had braces taken off just last year, the dentists wanted the pesky teeth gone in order to prevent ruining my $5000 tooth-job (which I may add, was hardly worth it at all- my teeth weren’t that bad, I don’t think such a ridiculous price was warranted). Luckily this time, though, we’ve got insurance to cover the surgery, so the $2500 procedure is being whittled down to a mere $400. Which isn’t nearly as bad, I suppose, but nonetheless annoying.

There’s something else I wanted to mention, though, since it’s pretty important to me, and actually something I was surprised about. When my mother found out about the price of the surgery (the $2500, money we don’t really have at the moment), she was concerned that we couldn’t get it done. After some further research or something into what exactly our insurance covered, she found that the insurance would cover approximately 80% of the cost IF we had the full $2500 to pay up front. So what ended up happening was my mother got some money from my grandparents, under the agreement that they would get the money back after the insurance payedย out.

However, that’s not quite what happened. When my mother called my grandparents back to tell them how much the insurance was covering, my grandparents agreed that they would just pay the remaining $400. Wow! Neither of us thought that they’d do that, and neither of us expected it. Now, since I know my grandmother occasionally reads my blog- I’d like to give her and grandpa a bit of a shout out.

I think I’ve always been a bit of a delinquent child that never wanted to do anything anyone else wanted to do, always had to have things my way, and definitely could be a bit of a shithead; you two have always put up with me, for good or for ill, in your own way. I appreciate both of you more than you could ever imagine, and I thank you for everything, especially for taking a bit of an interest in my writing, and also including ย this. Thank you grandma and grandpa, I love you both. ๐Ÿ™‚

To say the least, though, tomorrow I’ll probably be a little loopy because of all of the drugs I’ll be on (getting put to sleep, and then loads of painkillers for who knows how long after the fact), and I think it’ll be a great time for writing. Coherent writing? Probably not. But writing nonetheless, and perhaps it will be a free idea well being spilled out of Erynn’s brain. Haha, we’ll see I guess.

I plan on writing a blog post tomorrow after the procedure as a bit of an update. Who knows what it’ll be about, though.

Also, I apologize for the off-topic post today, but I felt it was something that had to be said.

~Erynn

5 thoughts on “How Scary

  1. I hope you are as pain free as possible Sweetheart. The dentist that did mine was a 7′ tall Russian woman, didn’t feel a thing! Lol

    Like

    • Haha! I just got home from getting them taken out. Mouth hurts like hell, lots of blood, and I’m exhausted… but hey, I’m alive. ๐Ÿ™‚ They put me to sleep and it felt like I was only out for five minutes when it was actually an hour and a half.

      Like

  2. “Surgery?! How’d that slip your mind?”…”Oh wisdom teeth.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    I still have all my wisdom teeth. They bother me every once in a blue moon, but I’m not to thrilled about the idea of going through that procedure. I’m keepin’ ’em… until I’m absolutely forced to do otherwise.

    I hope the surgery goes smoothly and you have a quick recovery!:-)

    -Staci

    Like

    • Hey, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wasn’t too excited to get them taken out, but my mother and older sister both had theirs taken out at 16/17 because of how early they began growing and how little room there was in their mouths. It was the same for me, so out they came. Thankfully I was asleep while they did it so now I only have to deal with the after-pain, which isn’t as bad as it could be.

      Totally understand why you don’t wanna get rid of them, though. If they’re not really causing you any problems, why should you? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Eggsactly… how I feel. ๐Ÿ™‚ “Don’t try to fix something that ain’t broken.”

        Asleep? *Phew. God bless the minds that developed anesthetics. I’m happy to hear your recovery process isn’t too painful.

        -Staci

        Like

Leave a Reply

