So Critique Groups Are Nice!

Well, you know, when people actually critique your stuff. I’ve been in my group for maybe two months now, I remember mentioning it briefly on my blog when I joined it.

So anyway, I’ve got nothing against my critique group… but I think I have the right to be annoyed that other people are getting 4+ critiques in the same amount of time as me, where I’m getting 1 or 2. SO! I’ve decided that I’m going to do something about it.

A lot of you who read my blog are writers, aren’t you? How about we get together and critique each others’ work? I’ve been using the site https://www.inkedvoices.com/, which has just come out of beta. There’s currently a discount on annual and monthly memberships.

Codes:

JULY – 25% off annual membership

BETAFRIEND – 40% off a monthly membership for 3 months.

These codes are usable until July 31st, 2014. So if you want to come join me, do it quick!

Since the site is pretty new, lots of features are still being added and polished. But I like the site a lot, and I think it’s worth supporting. If you’re in the market for a critique group, all the better! I just have a few things I’d like everyone whose interested in joining my group to know about.

– Please, please, please, PLEASE only submit Fantasy & Scifi. I can critique anything because I read everything, but the group is specifically for scifi and fantasy. So if that’s not your thing, I’m sorry, but you’ll have to look somewhere else. 😦

– Be willing to submit at least once per month. Length doesn’t matter, but damn do I get annoyed when there’s nothing to critique. Inactive members will be kicked from the group if it comes to it.

– Critique everything, please, especially if you don’t like it. Personally I like harsh criticisms because they’re the most useful, so the point of view of someone who doesn’t like the piece is oh so valuable.

– Be comfortable with critiquing and reading graphic sex and violence. Although be warned, we don’t want to be reading your erotica, so remember… keep it fantasy/scifi.

 

I think that’s about it. If you’re interested in joining, make an account on the Inked Voices website and join my group! 🙂

You can access the group here: Clicky

All you need to do is request an invite and I’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

If you guys have any questions I will gladly answer them, and I look forward to writing with anyone who chooses to participate! ❤

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

