Update on Taichiren’s Heart

So, I’ve made a bit of progress since my last post dedicated to Taichiren’s, which I believe was sometime in March. In March I planned to complete the first 10 chapters of the second draft, but well, with all of the crap I’ve suddenly got added to my plate of day-to-day activities, it was something I had to put aside. Now that things aren’t so hectic and I’ve managed to create a bit of a schedule, I’ve been able to reinstate my regular writing schedule and have steadily been pumping out new chapters.

At the moment I’m sitting at 9 completed second draft chapters and 2 completed third draft chapters. As I believe I previously mentioned, the third draft chapters are for my critique group because I don’t want to put out something for others to read that’s more of a ramble than a coherent chapter. I’m not actually insane, and I do a “third draft” of a single chapter roughly once a month.

As I’m sitting at 9 chapters, which is a bit under 1/3rd of the whole book, I’ve still got a ways to go. But with the progress I’ve been making and the time I’ve been able to create for writing my own stuff, I think I’ll be done with the second draft before the end of August. With the July NaNoWriMo coming up, that goal will be even easier to achieve because I’ll be forcing myself to write about a chapter a day along with my work-related writing.

Something I didn’t think I mentioned before were my plans for publishing Taichiren’s Heart. Of course, you’ve probably assumed by now that it’s one of my goals, but I haven’t been too specific about those goals.

Simply put, I’ve created a bunch of goals for writing and finishing the novels in this series. Strangely enough, Taichiren’s Heart is only a placeholder name because I think I need something more fitting. Unlike the other mini-series I’m working on, I haven’t had a name resonate with the story yet, or the series. It’ll come with due time; after all, I’ve still got lots of work to do before the story is even considered close to “finished”.

Some of my goals for this series are as followed:

Finish the 2nd draft of Taichiren’s Heart by August 31st, 2014.

Finish the 1st draft of Actasus (the sequel) by October 31st, 2014. – I started this draft before starting the 2nd draft of Taichiren’s, so I’m already about 10 chapters through, though it’s been on pause for a while.

Finish the 1st drafts of books 3 and 4 by March 1st 2015.

Finish the 3rd draft of Taichiren’s Heart by February 1st 2015.

I keep these goals to remind myself of the amount of work writing actually is, and the amount of time that I HAVE put into writing, and NEED to put into writing to finish these pieces. The road is long, but with clear goals and a constant stream of ideas, I know I’m heading in the right direction. My confidence also plays a large role in the success of completing my goals. While I know my writing is far from the best, I’m confident in my ability to improve and reach my goals at the same time. So that’s what I’ll do- I’ll keep moving forward, capturing success over success, and take control of my own desires by using a system I know works for me.

My goals keep me in check, but I’m the one who gives them the power to do so.

Do you guys keep goals for your writing, and do you tend to stick to them if so? Do you find that keeping goals keeps you on a regular schedule, or that maybe it only stresses you out and makes you get even less done? I want to hear your thoughts and experiences!

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

