Busy, busy, busy…

It’s been two or three long, busy weeks. Now that this week is almost over, it’s time to begin the next busy week! And the next, and the next. Ugh. I’ll be busy until the end of June. On the bright side, though, once June is over, I’ll have so much more time to write I probably won’t even know what to do with myself. I’m excited!

Lately I’ve been having trouble forcing myself to sit down and write. The last four days I’ve barely been at home, and when I have been, I’ve been working.

Anyway, now that I’ve done a tiny rant, how about we talk about something moderately interesting?

Like, um… books? Books are good.

I can’t say that I’ve always been a reader, but I can say that I’ve been a reader for a long time. One of the first novel series I picked up of my own accord was around grade 6 or 7, the children’s series Warriors. If you’ve never read it before, don’t bother, you’re probably too old for it (that is, unless you’ve got an interest in reading children’s books, then go ahead).

Simply put, the series is about four clans of wild cats that fight with each other. Each clan has their own hierarchy, rules, territory, etc. They train for battle, hunting, survival, and some cats even get their own little niche roles such as leader, healer, etc.

The series spans over about, say, maybe 30-40 books? I’m not exactly sure, really, but it’s long. I never read the whole thing because I eventually grew out of it, but it was a great series to introduce me to the world of reading outside of manga and being read to before bed time when I was younger.

Currently my Warriors books are resting within the depths of one of my book cases, and that’s where they will stay until the end of June, when they will be packed away into a box and not seen again for years. But even so, I’m not going to get rid of them, and I definitely won’t be rereading them any time soon, if ever at all. So why am I keeping them, you might ask? Well, because the series did a lot for me when I was younger.

Truthfully, I started reading them at a time when I was pretty miserable. My brooding depression began to sink in, I didn’t know what was wrong with me, and no one else really seemed to know, either. I didn’t want to go to school or talk to anyone, so instead of doing that, I stayed at home and fell in love with reading. Not only did it take me out of the world that I then wasn’t too fond of, it brought me into a new one that taught me to appreciate the one I didn’t like.

Now to get to why I’m actually keeping them. Because one day, probably ten years or so from now, I’ll have my own kids. Even if that happens sooner or later, or even not at all, I want other children to read these books. I want there to be the possibility that they will appreciate them like I did, so I’m saving them simply to pass them on.

Have any of you appreciated a book/series so much that you’ve made plans to, or already have, passed it on to someone else?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

