The First Book I Ever Wrote

I wrote it in grade 8, and I never showed anyone. I called it “And Then, so Death Took Them”, but I’m not really sure what to think of that name. Sure, it was a pretty accurate representation of the book, but I don’t think I’d ever get away with that kind of name. On a personal level, I’m now fond of novel names that sum up the book in 1-3 words. The second thing is that it seems like more of a horror title, rather than sci-fi.

The first five chapters or so sit at the bottom of one of my dresser drawers. The rest has been lost, though I’m sure if I looked really hard I could find it; the original story somewhat stemmed from an English project, so I’ve most likely got a copy somewhere within the depths of my email.

Anyway, this story eventually merged with a different idea I had, and it’s been reformed into what I’ve previously mentioned as Desolace. I tried to rewrite it a year or two ago, but I had too many other things to worry about and I only ended up writing about 3 chapters. *shrug*

I’m not sure why I took the story idea I had from my English class and morphed it into a story. It originally began as a story about a government oppressed society, who years beforehand evacuated the dying planet of Earth when an alternate dimensional version of Earth was found. On the new earth, the government went “corrupt” and eliminated the use of every day technology, and kept anything advanced in their hands. But that’s not how the story ended up once I changed it into Desolace. Now it’s more of a fantasy/sci-fi mix that is actually the advancement of another “human” race that exists outside of Earth.

I guess you could say that’s when my vague aspirations of being a novelist/author began. I think it’s kind of sad that it took me such a long time (then to now) to realize that there’s nothing else I could want to do more- though I suppose late is better than never.

The first line in “And Then, so Death Took Them”:

Most might consider killing to be a science, I, however, consider it to be an art.

When’s the first time any of you tried your hand at writing a book?

~Erynn

7 thoughts on “The First Book I Ever Wrote

  1. That sounds cool. I might definitely dig it out if you could find it. I wrote a lot of stories in middle and high school that I wish I’d saved on a better format (than printing them on an old-school printer with the holes on the sides you had to tear–eek!) Some of them are completely lost, and I wish I still had them so I could look back and laugh. 🙂

    Like

      • It was the worst! Technology over the past few years has grown A LOT. I’m a teacher and am starting to have my students hand in some projects in a virtual format. It’s crazy to think that in a few years, we might not use much paper at all.

        Like

Leave a Reply

