Physical Books, or Ebooks?

Two different forms of books, and both of them handle in very different ways. But is one type better than the other?

In my humble opinion, neither is better than the other; like many other things, both of them have their strengths and weaknesses. I still purchase physical copies of most of my books, even though it is inconvenient do to so (I live in the middle of nowhere, the nearest book store is 45 minutes away and it has a limited selection). But with this, I also buy a fair amount of ebooks; it wouldn’t be a bad guess to say I have several hundred dollars worth of ebooks.

Why?

Let’s start with the pros and cons of each type, and then perhaps I’ll tell you.. 😉

Physical Books

Pros

– There’s nothing like the feeling of turning the pages of a book and holding it in your hands

– New book smell = awesome

– You can fully appreciate the artwork that decorates the book

– Stacking books are fun, we could probably make a house

Cons

– Heavy, especially for travelling or moving homes

– You are limited in how many you can take with you somewhere

– They can take up a lot of space

– They are easily damaged or torn, especially by pets if you’re not careful

– You have to go out and buy them, so store hours and such can be inconvenient

Ebooks

Pros

– You can take as many books as you want, almost anywhere, with a single device

– You can’t damage the individual books, but you can still create bookmarks, notes, etc., inside them

– Ebooks can be bought whenever you want to read a new book, or even the minute it becomes available online

– Switching between books or other tasks is simple

Cons

– When away from home, battery life might not be enough for you to read as much as you’d like

– Ereading devices can be expensive, especially full blown tablets. They are also nice targets for thieves.

– Ereading devices are fragile, and as such, require more care than an actual book (though a fair share of book lovers would argue otherwise)

– Reading outside when it’s sunny out sometimes sucks terribly

So truthfully, there are some pretty good perks to either side, but they both also have their own downfalls. I don’t particularly care which way I read, as I have enough books in either form to use them when I feel one would be beneficial over the other. There are some authors that I only buy as ebooks, though, such as Sarah J. Maas and Steven Erikson, and some that I only buy in print, such as R.A Salvatore and Michael J. Sullivan.

What do you guys think? Do you prefer one over the other, and if so, why?

~Erynn

9 thoughts on “Physical Books, or Ebooks?

  1. I’ve always been a physical book person. But having just moved interstate, I’m starting to see the benefit of a kindle. How cool would it be to take a library of books with you wherever you go without the weight, bulk, etc.

    Like

  2. I love books, turning the pages the feel of them in my hands. I would own a library if I could. But ebooks on my kindle make taking my books with me when I travel more practical. 🙂

    Like

  3. I definitely prefer physical books. I love having them displayed on shelves for people to see and talk about. However, I do check out a lot of ebooks from the library. It eliminates the need to visit the library every few days. 🙂

    Like

      • Yes, you can! At least, from my library system. I don’t know if all libraries do it. But check out your library’s website and see if they have an ebook section. You could also go to OverDrive.com and search for your library there to see if it’s connected. It’s amazing! I love being able to check out a new book instantly at any time of the day or night.

        Like

Leave a Reply

