The Liebster Blog Award

Hi everyone!

Today I’d like to thank Adrian for nominating me for the Liebster Blog Award!

The rules for the award are:

Image

So here are 11 random facts about me!

1. I LOVE birds. I have 4 cockatiels of my own and want more of them!

2. I’m a crazy gamer. I play everything from world builders, MMORPGs, FPS, and MOBAs. I seem to like anything that just clicks.

3. I have so many books my bookshelves are stuffed full, I’ve got piles of them lining the wall beneath my bedroom window, and a bunch more sitting on the floor! I WANT MORE!

4. I’m still in high school, but I’m graduating this June!

5. I play the violin! I’m pretty bad at it, but it’s fun.

6. I’m trying to curb my reddit addiction. (But I swear, /r/writing is useful!)

7. I’m a snowboarder. It’s lots of fun, but laziness + snowboarding = bad combo

8. If I were a good baker I would make myself an unlimited supply of cookies, cake, and other pastries. But since I’m not, I need to coerce my boyfriend to do it for me.

9. I live in the middle of bum-fuck nowhere. Seriously, who knows about the Okanagan? It’s classified as the only Canadian desert!

10. I like to cosplay. I haven’t had much time to do it in the last little while, but in the past I’ve cosplayed as Muramasa from Bleach, a Professor from Ragnarok Online, Kisshu from Tokyo Mew Mew, Justicar Syndra from League of Legends, and probably a few others that I can’t remember right now.

11. I have lots of collections of weird objects. For example, I have a bunch of glass rabbits, carousel horses, unicorns, a preserved butterfly and puffer-fish… and HATS. I don’t even know.

And now for the questions!

1. What are you reading right now?

I’m currently reading The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. I’m reading it for a chance at a scholarship via an essay contest based on the book, and wow! I’m actually quite stunned at how great it is. I realized when I started reading it that it was a book with a lot of philosophical concepts, but I don’t think I was prepared for what the book actually contains. It’s phenomenal, but it’s definitely reading material that I would not have been able to grasp if I had tried to read it, say, a year before now.

2. How do you choose which books you want to read?

The books I choose to read are heavily based off of cover art and related authors. If a book has a cover that grabs my attention, typically I’ll take a look at it and consider reading it if I liked the blurb even if it’s not a genre that I normally read. For related authors, a lot of books that I pick up are names that are mentioned in other books that I read or through the same publisher. For example, the Forgotten Realms books have advertisements inside of the books for other people published with that group, so I read a lot of forgotten realms books because of that.

3. What is your writing process?

Simply put, I’m a gardener. I start with an idea and go on with whatever naturally comes up along the way. The actual writing process, though… that’s a lot more complex. I like to try and write one chapter at a time without having a clear picture of what’s going to happen next. Often times I’ll know what some of the bigger events in the story are, but every time I sit down and write I’m working towards those events and figuring out what connects the dots.

When I finally get down to writing, I have a half draft, and then a first draft. The half draft is the very first time I attempt to write a scene, where I don’t really care for what I write other than the basic idea of what’s going on. After I get a few chapters like that done, I go back and finish making them a first draft by expanding the dialogue a bit, adding some details and making it a bit clearer for myself to understand and change later on for the inevitable second draft.

That’s the basics of my writing process.

4. Which author do you admire and why?

R.A Salvatore is a god. He’s mostly known for his Legend of Drizzt series, where you follow a dark elf and eventually his companions on their many adventures. I think I could easily say that the Legend of Drizzt was the first Fantasy series that I read and actually took a genuine interest in. While I have yet to actually finish the series (I think it’s about 24 books long, I’m about 18 or 19 through it), I admire R.A Salvatore because of how he was able to make his writing affect me. This series will always have a place in my heart, and that’s all because of Salvatore. I can only hope that one day my writing can make someone else feel the way I felt while reading those books.

5. What is your favourite place to write and why?

In all honesty, I don’t really have a favourite place to write. I write whenever I have time to write, whether I’m walking home from school, in class, or binging between work assignments. In most cases though, I write at home. I really enjoy just writing with the lights off, sitting in the dark with me and my computer. I find writing outside too distracting.

6. What books are you looking forward to this year?

I hadn’t actually thought about it before reading this question. I have so many books already that I need to read that I hadn’t thought all that much about what’s actually coming out, but after taking a quick look, I’m excited for the following books.

In no particular order:

1. The One

2. City of Heavenly Fire

3. The Broken Eye

4. Rhune

Actually, I think I’m most excited for Rhune and The Broken Eye. They have both been fantastic series so far and can’t wait to read more!

8. What is the first book you can remember reading?

Hmmm… the first book I can remember reading… The first book I have a clear memory of reading would be Where the Wild Things Are in grade 3.

9. Have you ever taken any writing classes?

Nope, none at all. Since I look to major in creative writing, though, I’m pretty sure that’s going to be changing sometime soon…

10. Who is your favourite literary character?

Alisa from Thirst by Christopher Pike always stood out to me. I’m not really sure why. Just one of those characters that I really connected with through the series. It’s been a long time since I read those books, and whenever I think about them I always think of how real Alisa felt. Something that can be very difficult to achieve in genres where some tropes are overused, in my opinion.

11. What is your favourite classic book?

Of Mice and Men was a book that I wasn’t expecting to like when I first picked it up. It was actually a really touching piece of written work and it reminds me of a lot of daily struggles that people go through. There were lots of feels to be had because Lennie reminded me of my sister, in a way; of how the world isn’t fair to those who don’t think like the rest of us.

Here are my nominations. I actually don’t follow very many blogs, so along with the ones I was already following I went and found a few that I liked and followed them to nominate for this award!

1. Quoth The Wordsmith

2. Things I Wish I’d Known

3. CJ Pike Books

4. Write me a book, John!

5. Chris White Writes

6. Myths of the Mirror

7. Another Head Full of Fantasy

8. Cute Pencil

9. Tales in Progress

10. H.M Brooks Writes

11. Joannebest

And here are my questions for all of you lovely bloggers!

What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing, if any at all?

What is it about writing that keeps you going, even when you’re not sure you want to continue?

Who is your favourite author?

What genre do you read, but swear you’ll never write?

What do you do when you tell yourself something along the lines of ‘I’ll only procrastinate a little bit longer’?

What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way?

Favourite series, and favourite stand alone?

Have you ever seriously screwed up your sleeping schedule because of a book? Was it worth it, and what were you reading?

What do you do to remember those ideas you come up with when you’re not able to write?

Are there any books or series that you thought were great, and then the ending just ruined everything for you?

Why do you write?

Looking forward to reading all of your responses! 😀

~Erynn

7 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award

Leave a Reply

