The Writing Failure

Hi everyone.

I mentioned awhile ago how I planned to get the first 10 chapters of my novel’s rewrite done before the end of spring break. Well, break ended just a little over a week ago… and my grand total of chapters completed is almost 4. I guess I got a little too carried away with other things!

It’s not that I haven’t been writing; since the start of Camp Nano I’ve written about 10k words. None of those words have bumped the progress of my personal writing, but instead all ten thousand of them have been used to work on the first draft of a novel I’m ghostwriting for someone else.

The piece that I’m ghostwriting is a suspense thriller, taking place in our day and age. Most definitely not out of my league, but it’s a genre I’m not all that familiar with working in. I’m actually enjoying the chance to try something new with no real consequences, though I know the genre isn’t something that I’ll ever work in for my personal writing.

Anyway, to the point of this post. I feel like I’m a failure-to-be. With all of the crap I’m juggling: Video games, reading, school, work, family crap, volunteering, writing, and more, it’s really starting to bug me that I can’t seem to find the time to do my own writing.

I don’t know what to drop to make time. I have an obligation to play video games; I have a clan in Smite that I’ve been playing with for a while now. Currently that’s the only game I’ve been playing because I’ve had no time for anything else.

I started reading Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead, which I need to finish within the next two weeks to get a chance at its related essay scholarship. That’s a no-brainer, can’t really drop that. If I read more to finish it quicker and get it over with, the more likely I am to just pick up another book once I’m done. It doesn’t help that I’ve got piles upon piles of books that I have to read; mostly for the desire of wanting to experience many different writing styles and techniques, but also because of my love of reading.

Everything else I’ve been working with (school, work, etc.) have all been back and forth. They’re all so time consuming and once I get what I can done for the day, I need to sleep. All of this combined leaves me little to no time to work on my own writing.

I feel like this is just one long excuse not to write, but I honestly just feel stuck. There doesn’t seem like there’s much that I can actually do to ease the situation, and I guess I’ll just see how it all plays out in the coming weeks. Going to be trying to squeeze in more time for my own writing whenever possible.

~ Erynn

Leave a Reply

