Writer’s Block

Hello again!

It’s been a while since my last post, but I’m planning on posting regularly again (in case you missed me or something <3). For the last little while I’ve been thinking about the endlessly discussed topic of writer’s block, so let’s give that a shot as today’s topic!

I’d like to start off by saying that I don’t actually believe in writer’s block. I believe that whether you have inspiration or not, if you want to write, you’ll find a way to do it. When you can’t think of that perfect scene that comes next in your book, that doesn’t mean you have writer’s block. It just means that that scene isn’t ready to be written. If you let yourself, you can switch gears and find what you’re ready to write and what’s ready to be written, not what you think should be written.

Writer’s block is a phenomenon created inside individual writers because they are intent on finding that perfect puzzle piece that advances the story. You know what I did when I couldn’t write the first chapter for my novel’s sequel? I wrote the third chapter, because I already knew what was going to happen. Even after I did that I still didn’t know what was going on, so I wrote chapters 3-10 before having an idea of what the first chapter was going to be.

Maybe you’re thinking “Well Erynn, you must not actually know what writer’s block is, because if you were able to come up with something for something else, that’s not true writer’s block!”

Well, duh, I don’t believe writer’s block exists so I don’t use it as an excuse not to write. If I can’t write about what I want to write about, I search until I find what can be written. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had those awful days where it seems like nothing wants to be written and I can’t come up with anything, but I don’t dismiss it as writer’s block. Instead I move on to something else that can be written, and worst comes to worst, I find something else to do that’s still writing-productive that’s not actually writing (like organizing my notes or creating a collection of plot holes in my current story. You know, stuff that generally has to get done anyway).

In the end it just comes down to my belief that if you want to write, you’ll find a way to do so; regardless of if you can think of an awesome idea or not. Come join me in my cult of writer’s block non-believers!

 

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

