Words

Hi again.

Today I want to talk about words. You’re probably thinking what a lame topic that is, but hey, words are a writer’s tool as much as coffee and a keyboard.

What comes to mind when you think about “words”? I don’t know about you, but it’s actually something I think about quite often. For me, words bring the image of a river of thoughts. Words flow by, some with meanings, others not so much. In the end, a word only has the meaning that you attach to it.

Basically what I picture is a real stream of consciousness.

I suppose that might make sense, but it making sense or not isn’t exactly the point. The stories we write (or sometimes thought-vomit onto a page) as writers come from these rivers of thoughts, built up of words that we may not even recognize as the words we need! …Okay, I admit I have no idea what I’m talking about anymore, but that’s fine too.

Words are magical and awesome like dragons and unicorns, but not so rare. 😀

Branching off of this not-so-topic-topic, I find that the stream of consciousness that I don’t even recognize when I’m awake to be the most useful tool for my writing. A lot of my ideas occur when I’m just waking up, almost asleep, and when I’m in a relaxed coma-like state. Strange, or no so strange, doesn’t matter to me; I’m not going to complain about something that helps me so much with my work!

Do you guys have any strange ways that help you get ideas, or maybe something that you don’t really understand but still gets the job done?

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

