Writing

Hi!

Today I’d like to talk a little bit about my writing. I admit I don’t really know where to begin.

I’ve been writing for several years now, though only in recent months have I actually taken it seriously. It all started with a lovely event called NaNoWriMo. If you don’t know what that is already, simply put NaNoWriMo is a month-long writing event where the goal is to write 50,000 words. Essentially this is to get yourself in the habit of writing on a regular basis, even after the month is over.

I had heard about last year’s NaNo two weeks before it started. It was my boyfriend, actually, who told me about it. Our conversation went something along the lines of… “Writing thing!! *grunt grunt*” with my response being “Writing thing?!! Ok!!”

That was the start of the development of my novel-to-be, a 300 word fantasy plot sorted out in about two hours with a ridiculous amount of vulgarities, and boobs added everywhere (boobs) because, well, why not?

I was extremely excited to start writing; a phenomena that I had not experienced in quite some time. I ended up creating a chapter outline for the entire novel (something that, of course, was practically discarded after the first three chapters had been written). The plan was to write a standalone, and then go back and work on my other pieces now that I had some motivation to write again.

Of course, that’s not what ended up happening. By the end of NaNoWriMo I had written roughly half of the planned novel (I believe I recorded 62,000 words), and had realized that the novel had potential to be continued, if done right, into a longer series.

I guess you could say that’s what happened. The first draft of the novel ended up being about 97,000 words and something I was proud of. It was still garbage and needed to be torn apart (I was able to recognize this fact early on, thankfully), but I was happy with myself nonetheless. It was the first full length novel I had completed!

The draft was completed in mid January of this year, and I’m only just starting the rewriting process now. Still a long road ahead of me, but hey, my enthusiasm has yet to waiver and I have no intentions of letting it!

Thanks for reading!

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

