Grumble

Hi again.

I’m not sure what it’s been lately, but all of the books in first person narrative that I’ve read over the last couple months have been awful. I think I’ve actually started hating on the first person narrative as a whole. So, I guess you could say that this is a bit of a rant.

Personally, I love writing in third person and I’ve written all of my larger works that way; leaving only short stories and now this blog as the only exceptions. In some cases, I can agree that it is much more more appropriate than third person. I don’t mean to bash on those who write this way, there are obviously some amazing pieces done in first person. Lately, to me it just seems to be like many writers are using first person as an excuse to have atrocious grammar.

I don’t mean to imply that my grammar is perfect or anything. More than likely I’ve made several mistakes in this post alone. Grammar is actually one of my weaker points in writing, but I’ve improved lots over the last several months and have no intentions of hiding the fact that I’ve got a lot to improve on. I’m guessing it’s just a newly developing pet peeve of mine. And. And. And. But. And. UGH.

Does anyone share this feeling? I can understand that our characters will not always have perfect inner monologue (I mean really, I most definitely don’t myself, and I don’t expect my characters to), but I am becoming increasingly irritated with every other sentence starting with either And or But. Yeah it’s not the end of the world… just one of those things I guess.

Anyways, I feel kinda better about it after sharing it to most likely nobody. Thanks for listening, kind strangers. 🙂

~Erynn

Leave a Reply

